Review: Sleek Candy palette

Some time ago my friend Wendy went to England, and she asked me if there was anything makeup related wanted to have. I instantly thought of the Limited Edition palette from Sleek, from the Candy Collection. It has a lot of sweet and bright colours in it. Since I have loads and loads of dark eyeshadows and palettes, but not these kind of colours, I thought this would be a nice addition to my collection!

The palette comes in a cardboard box again. The palette itself is black with the Sleek logo on it.
The old palettes didn’t have the name of the palette or the collection written on the top. The last palettes they made, did have the name on it. I think that’s a great idea because this way you can see which palette you have in your hands without having to open it.

The palette itself is the same as they usually do. They always have a big mirror in the lid of the palette and an applicator in it, which I never use.
The palette from this collection has both shimmery and matte colours. I love that combination of finishes!

The colours in this palette are so spot on for a Candy collection. The cute, sweet, soft colours really do remind me of candy.😀
And of course there is the black colour they ALWAYS put in their palettes. Honestly, I love that eyeshadow because it’s one of the most pigmented black eyeshadows I own. But since I have about 10 Sleek palettes, I have enough black eyeshadow to last me a lifetime. It does make some sense in this palette though, because it’s called Liquorice.

I tried making a picture with the transparent sheet with the names on it, but the names didn’t show up. So I just put the names in the picture myself.

Let’s move over to the swatches. I honestly have to say this is the first palette from Sleek that is a bit disappointing. I never would have thought it could happen! Some eyeshadows are a bit in the powdery side and not  as pigmented as I’m used to with this brand.

It’s a great palette and I’m glad I own it, but I’ve seen better from Sleek. It probably also has to do with the fact that these are pretty light colours.

From the top row I thought Strawberry Sherbert was most disappointing, it doesn’t really show up on my skin colour. And as a true purple-lover I have a like Parma Violet the most. It’s a very beautiful smokey matte purple eyeshadow
The two green eyeshadows, Apple sour and Pear Drop, have a strong shimmer and the pigmentation of those two is good, just as I expect from a great brand like Sleek.
Bon Bon is a cute shimmery pink colour that’s also a bit light on my skin but performs a lot better than the matte pink eyeshadow does. The last colour in the top row, called Flump (what’s in a name?) is ok, but I’m not doing cartwheels over it yet.

Top row Candy palette, in sunlight

Top row Candy palette, in shadow

The bottom row of this palette starts with the black eyeshadow, Liquorice. As usual it’s a nice black colour but it would have been nice to see Sleek do something different with their black eyeshadow. Maybe add a cool shimmer or glitter in it to give it something special.
Blue Fizzle is a shimmery blue eyeshadow that reminds me of blueberries. Not too great in the pigmentation department. Just like the matte colours in the bottom row, called Bubble Gum and Mint Cream. I’m truly disappionted in these two colours. Especially the green colour, Mint Cream, because I tried to build it up and it shows like a thin wash of colour! Such a shame.
Aniseed and Cream Soda are light shimmery colours again and those are pretty. The pigmentation on these two is ok, Cream soda would make a nice shimmery highlight.

Bottom Row Candy palette, in sunlight

Bottom row Candy palette, in shadow

Somehow I expected more of this palette. Maybe it’s because it’s Sleek and through the years, they have always happily surprised me with the intense eyeshadows they make for such a low price. So my expectation for Sleek products are pretty high. Maybe my expectations were a bit too high for this palette, I just don’t know.
And I honestly do not understand why my swatches turned out so light. I saw swatches on other blogs and they were much better pigmented. Isn’t that strange? And I even used a good base underneath these eyeshadows.😦

I guess I just have to try and make some looks with this palette soon and see how they perform in action, so to speak.
What do you think of this palette? Do you like the colours they picked out for the theme? And what do you think of the swatches? Which of these is your favourite colour?
Please, let me know in the comments!😀

About Lisanne blogt

Ik blog op https://lisanneblogt.wordpress.com maar je kan mij ook vinden op Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/LisanneBlogt

Posted on October 10, 2013, in Product talk and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. I like how the pans don’t have the waffle pattern. I love the look of the palette, but I only see myself wear half of these colours on my eyes.

    • I completely agree on the waffle pattern, I’m glad they don’t use that anymore, made the palettes look a bit cheap. I wouldn’t use these colours a lot myself but that’s where I like the challenge.😉

  2. I bet you’ll make it work though Lisanne, over a base they’d still be nice as well I suppose. But they are a lot less pigmented it seems:/

    • Thanks for your trust.😉 I made a look with 2 colours and the shimmery ones are lovely but the matte colours… Let’s just say I need to see if I can improve something by using a good base, like you said.🙂

  3. I absolutely LOVE Sleek iDivine Palettes! I need to get that one! I am in the States and some are hard to get! I have two and DEFINITELY need more!

    • I know, too bad they are so hard to get by in the US. I understand you want more, I have more than 10 palettes and still want more when they sell Limited Editions. They are just so pretty!
      Can’t you buy them from the Sleek webshop? I think they ship internationally.

  4. Hmm it appears like your website ate my first comment (it was super long) so I
    guess I’ll just sum it up what I submitted
    and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I as well am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to everything.
    Do you have any points for novice blog writers?
    I’d genuinely appreciate it.

    • Don’t you hate it when the internet decides to work against you? I’m glad you still decided to leave a comment, thanks for that!
      Blogging can be difficult when you feel you have to do or write about things you see on other blogs. I personally prefer reading blogs that have a personal edge and I think readers respond best to seeing what the person behind the blog is like. You don’t have to overshare but reading about a subject that a writer is passionate about makes it a lot more interesting to read. And don’t force yourself too much to do stuff with your blog that you see on other blogs, originality is very important. There are literally thousands of blogs out there so make sure you stand out.
      Apart from that: make appealing pictures, try to create a writingstyle and do what you like to do.🙂

  1. Pingback: A littl’ bit of Sleek- The “Storm” Palette | Hey Laura Lou

  2. Pingback: Subterranean Apples | Lisanne blogt

  3. Pingback: Review: Sleek Garden of Eden palette | Lisanne blogt

Leave a Reply

