Tutorial: Rockchick From A Galaxy Far Away

A long long time ago I did *this* look and I got a lot of questions on Facebook and Twitter for a tutorial. It didn’t take me a lot of time to make the pictures but I’ve been procrastinating to write the text.

Anyway, it’s done now and I hope you’ll enjoy it. It’s not very difficult and you can make it with other products too. As long as you have a black eyeshadow and some glitter eyeshadows or a glitterliner it should work just fine.

Use a base to keep the eyeshadow from creasing. I always use a Gosh Mineral Waterproof Eyeshadow on top of that because the pigment works better on something that stays a bit sticky. You can use an eyeshadow stick like this or a NYC Jumbo Pencil in black (or any other colour, if you feel like it)

Úse as little as possible. With eyeshadow primers and bases Less truly is more. The more product you use, the more it’ll crease.

Take a black pigment like Stella from Sugarpill. Dab it onto the eyelid and make sure you tap off the excess pigment before you start applying it to your eyelid. That way you get as little fall out as possible.

I applied the pigmnet without a lot of precision because it will turn out better as you get further into the tutorial.

As you can see under my eye, I still got a little fall out. Makeup wipes like the one below are a life saver for situations like this.
And you’ll need the wipes again later so keep them close if you’re going to make this look.

Then get a fluffy brush and put some Stella on it. It doesn’t have to be a lot, just enough to get a blended wash of black in the crease.

Like this.

Then use a fine slanted brush and create a wing with Sugarpill Stella. Try to make the wing as neat as possible, it saves some work cleaning it up later.

Like this.

Wrap a wipe around your finger and clean up any mess under the eye. With the wipe you can also create a sharp edge on your wing.

See?

Use the slanted brush to line the lower lashline.

Now take a highlighter, I used Afterglow from MakeUp Geek because it’s a natural colour with a gorgeous shimmer.

Use the highlighter in the inner eye corner. You can also use it on the fluffy brush a bit to blend out the black a bit more in the crease and you can use it as a highlight under the brow. In this tutorial I only used it only as a highlight in the inner corner.

I used MakeUp Geek White Lies to blend out the black a little more and as a highlight under the brow.

Then use a glitterliner, I used MakeUp Store Kayo because that is the newest addition to my glitterliner collection.

I dabbed Kayo with my index finger on the moving eyelid, don’t apply it all the way to the inner corner, just pick a few spots. I also added the glitterliner to the wing.

Then I used MAC Young Punk and added that to the outer corner of the moving eyelid.

That way you get different of spots with different colours. You can make this as colourful as you like but because there’s also glitter in Stella, I limited my glitters to these 2 colours.

I used a kohl eyepencil from Gosh for the top and bottom waterline. First apply it to your lower waterliner and then put the pencil in your inner eye corner and close your eye, then drag the pencil to your outer corner and voilá: both waterlines are coloured.

And I curled my lashes and applied some mascara.

And that’s it, you’re done.🙂

I used a little concealer from Catrice under my eyes, some Soft ‘n Shine lipbalm from Gosh in the colour Aubergine and a blush from Sleek called Fenberry

Here’s the final result, simple but effective, right?🙂

And some fullface pictures.

I hope you like this tutorial and I’m curious if you’re going to try and make this look yourself. What colours would you use?

Please let me know in the comments!

About Lisanne blogt

Ik blog op https://lisanneblogt.wordpress.com maar je kan mij ook vinden op Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/LisanneBlogt

Posted on July 4, 2013, in Tutorial and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Great tutorial and gorgeous look! I think i’m going to try this one.

  2. Oh, I seriously have to use Stella again! So pretty the look you created with it!
    I just got some glitters from eyekandy, I bought a red one, I think I´m gonna try it with Stella very soon😉
    I love your sense of style by the way, the top (ore dress?) looks stunning and I only saw the upper part😉

  3. I am LOVING this look!!!!!!

  4. This is gorgeous. I love the layering of the glitters/colours over the black! Awesome!

  5. Yay! This is one of my favorite looks, so I’m happy you made a tutorial! Great one, too! Thanks!

  6. Yayus! Lovely tutorial ^_^

Leave a Reply

