Quite Colorful Quetzal

I found this picture on Pinterest and I thought the colours were beautiful, colourful and rich but very natural at the same time because of the brown.

I decided to make a makeup look inspired by this little cutie from Guatamala. It’s called a Quetzal, by the way. Isn’t he adorable? He has a mohawk!

If you know my other look, you may know that these colours of green and blue/teal/ish are some of my favourites. But it always makes me a bit frustrated how the blue in the picture is almost impossible to find. I went through my entire stash but the best I could do was combine a whole lot of colours that came close. But were not the exact, spot on colour.




When I started out. I wanted to make the points of the feathers in the crease, so I would get the same effect of brown and green zigzagging into each other. But that didn’t work very well and it made the look chunky. So I decided to do some points in the eyeliner and I like how that worked out.






I’m still not completely happy with the blue colour on the moving eyelid. It lacks that vibrance it has on the pretty birdie. I guess you can’t mimic nature’s awesomness entirely.πŸ˜‰


There’s also some fullface pictures. I used a nive orangy brown lipstick from Gosh. I didn’t want to do anything too extravagant but still give the look some colour.


What I love most of all is the lime green colour, it’s Sugarpill’s Acidberry and Gosh Apple Jam combined. That colour works fantastic with brown and really gives that pop of colour I like.

I hope you liked this look. I had a lot of fun making it. I also tried this look with some lashes because whenever I do something colourfiul like this, I always get the question why I didn’t use lashes to vamp it up and add some more drama. Personally, I think my looks have enough drama in them without lashes and I’m not really great at applying lashes either. So I usually keep them out because I like it as it is or because I’m afraid I’ll mess up the eyeliner or eyeshadow. I actually DID mess up the eyeliner with the glue and had to do a lot of touching up so I was happy I had already made these pictures.


See, what I don’t like about the added lashes is that they actually overpower the eyeliner and the colours, instead of adding something to the picture. I liked trying it but I just think it looks better without the lashes.

By now I made quite a few looks inspired by birds so I decided to make a series out of it. You can find all my birds-inspired-looks by checking out the “For The Birds” tag.

So, tell me: what do you think? Do you think I managed to capture the colours in the Quetzal? Does anybody know an eyeshadow just as insanely bright as the colour on the birdie? And what do you think of the lashes? With or without, which do you prefer?

Please let me know what you think in the comments.πŸ˜€

Products used

Eyes

  • Gosh Effect Powder Apple Jam
  • Gosh Effect Powder Azure
  • Sugarpill Acidberry
  • Sugarpill Mochi
  • MAC Copperbeam
  • Sleek Mattes Darks palette, Paper Bag, Orbit
  • Sleek Mediterranean palette, Hummingbird
  • MakeUp Store eyepencil, Seduced By The Dark
  • Coastal Scents Mirage palette for the golden shimmer highlight
  • Catrice gelliner Black Jack with Jack Black
  • Gosh Kohl / Eyeliner, Black
  • Gosh Perfect Lift ‘n Shape mascara

Face

  • Rimmel Match Perfection, Ivory
  • Essence Crazy About Color LE, Colourmania blush (the light colours as highlighter)
  • Sleek Fenberry

Lips

  • Gosh Velvet Touch Lipstick, Romantic

About Lisanne blogt

Ik blog op https://lisanneblogt.wordpress.com maar je kan mij ook vinden op Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/LisanneBlogt

Posted on June 28, 2013, in Make-up looks and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. enchantinglinda

    You made a chocolate bird!

    *I think that Darling by Sugarpill might be the color you are looking for although you’ll might have to mix it a bit with Magpie. (Just thinking out loud)

    • I agree, Darling would probably be the best match. But I don’t have Darling.πŸ™‚ That’s one of the colours I still need in my Sugarpill collection.

  2. Vicki N. Hammons

    Good morning. I think this birdie of yours is a Cutie:) And that you did an awesome job creating your look. It is beautiful! But then again ALL your looks are, to me:) Thank you for sharing your art with us. Have an awesome weekend.

  3. Wauw Lisanne!
    ik denk dat ik dit wellicht je allemooiste look ooit vindt!! Het staat je prachtig maar nou heb je ook oogleden waar je u tegen zet, en alle ruimte om zo’n mooie creatie te makenπŸ™‚
    werkelijk prachtig!

    • Dat is leuk om te lezen, dank je welπŸ˜€ Ik merk dat ik van die “vogeltjes looks” erg leuk vind om te maken en deze combinatie met bruin maakt hem wat draagbaarder. Bedankt voor je comment!

  4. OOOHH!! This might be my favorite of your looks! The colors are all so gorgeous together, and I love the little wings on the outer eye! Amazing!πŸ˜€

  5. Lovely colours and what a beautiful bird!

  6. Vicki N. Hammons

    Good morning:) I think you did a beautiful job emulating the colors of the pretty birdie. Also, I agree with you about the lashes. Soon as I saw the pic with the lashes, it was my thought that the lashes over shadowed the look. If it’s not broke then don’t fix it:) Awesome job, my dear. But then again, I love all your art work<3

    • That’s exactly the words I was looking for, lol. I do need to do something more outrageous with freaky lashes soon, but looks like this indeed look better without all the distractions of fakery.πŸ˜‰ I’m glad you like the look!

  1. Pingback: Tutorial: Quite Colorful Quetzal | Lisanne blogt

Leave a Reply

