Sunset in Mecca

This day (19th of april) my love and I are together for 9,5 years, woohoo!!!!!!
I’m not one to publicly start slobbering on him, I personally think it’s a bit jucky to drool all over him on every other occasion. But let’s say he still makes me the happiest girl in the world. I just could not let the occasion pass without saying a word about it. I’m not going to linger on the subject very long but hey, 9,5 years is a long time! Before this relationship, the longest one I had was about 3 months. Men just could not hold my attention for a very long time.
It feels like only yesterday I got off the train and I looked in his eyes and… there I was, staring into my future. Little did I know: today we own a house, 2 cats and we have a great life together which I enjoy every. Single. Day. He makes me smile when I think I can only cry, he gives me butterflies with just a smile or a touch and I just feel a bit incomplete when he’s not around.
He’s simply the best man I could wish for.
The luuuuuurve.

See? This is the kind of blogpost I hate. Oh no, I did it too!!!

I love him with all my heart. Aorta, atriums and all the other stuff

I love him with all my heart. Aorta, atriums and all the other stuff

Luckily there’s also some makeup in this blogpost so it’s not all about the loveydovey stuff.

So, on to make-up related things: I saw a look on the Preen.me facebook page that I really liked. However, it was heavily photoshopped and I thought the was a crying shame. I think photoshop can improve minor flaws but if you start to blur the biggest part of the look, it’s not about the makeup anymore.

Anyway, the look I took the inspiration from had a lot of brown in it and I used mainly reds and purples. And since I added the pointy detail in the inner corner, it reminded me a bit of arabic looks I’ve seen. And of a sunset. Hence the name…

If you follow my blog you already know this: I looooooove Sugarpill and Sleek. I made this look with eyeshadows from both brands.
The matte colours from Sleek are amazing as transition colours and the Sugarpill Eyeshadows are the most vibrant colours AND easiest to work with.
Sugarpill is not cheap, but if you want quality, this is the brand you’re looking for.🙂

The gold speck on the eyeliner was not meant to be there. Considering I’m a perfectionist, it’s safe to say it bugs the HELL out if me! Grrrrrr.
Ok, moving on.

I actually didn’t plan on using any glitters, because I use them a lot and I thought it would look nice without glitter this time. But I guess everything just looks better with glitter. I sure think this look does.🙂

I didn’t expect much of this look but on camera it worked out better than I thought!

Fullface pictures over here. Maybe I should have kept the lips lighter. I think the “problem” is the eyeshadow, though.

Honestly: this in one of those looks that I don’t particularly like in the fullface pictures. The close-ups, in my opinion, are awesome but the fullface pictures are a bit too dark. That’s probably because there’s a dark colour in the inner corner where I normally wear a highlight or a light colour. That gives a look that sparkling effect it can have, but as you can see there’s a big difference when you take that out and replace it with a dark colour like the purple I used.
With this look, the inner corner is just too dark and it makes me look… I can’t describe it, so let’s go with “weird”.🙂

What do you think of this look? Do you think it looks “weird” too when you see the fullface pictures or an I being too critical again? Please let me know in the comments!

Products used

Eyes

  • Hema Eyeshadow Base
  • Gosh Mineral Waterproof Eyeshadow Stick, Brown
  • Sugarpill Goldilux
  • Sugarpill Love+
  • Sugarpill Poison Plum
  • Sleek Darks Mattes, colours Pillow Talk, Maple and Villan
  • Teeez Glitter Eyeliner, Outta Control
  • Gosh Kohl / Eyeliner, Black
  • Gosh Perfect Lift ‘n Shape mascara

Face

  • Rimmel Match Perfection Foundation, Ivory
  • Catrice Camouflage Cream, Rosy Beige
  • Sleek Blush, Molten

Lips

  • Michael Todd Crème Glacé, Raspberry Glace
  • Gosh Light ‘n Shine Lipgloss, #05

About Lisanne blogt

Ik blog op https://lisanneblogt.wordpress.com maar je kan mij ook vinden op Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/LisanneBlogt

Posted on April 19, 2013, in Make-up looks and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 20 Comments.

  1. Ik kan dit amper in het Nederlands uitleggen dus in het Engels gaat het helemaal niet lukken! Maar wat ik wil zeggen is dat ik net vind of er een zonnetje in of op je oog schijnt en dat zie je inderdaad het best op de foto’s met alleen maar je oog. Maar het is zo’n mooi oosters zonnetje dat ik hem op elke foto prachtig vind.
    En gefeliciteerd met je 9 1/2 jaar, op naar de 10!!

  2. Wow, prachtige ooglook! Ben het met je eens dat ‘ie beter werkt als close-up, maar desalniettemin erg mooi! En natuurlijk ook gefeliciteerd met jullie jubileum!🙂

  3. Yes, it´s dark, but its awesome! I saw it in my dashboard and fell in love! You´re maybe a little too critical, you look gorgeous with this look <3<3<3
    And happy anniversary😉

    • I think you are exactly right, I do tend to be a bit critical on my own work, it’s one of the ways I know best to try and keep improving myself and the way I learn, by spotting my “mistakes” and try it a bit differently the next time.
      But I get your point and I agree on it a lot. Thanks for your sweet comment, hun.😀

  4. Wow, I’m speachless! ^_^ Happy anniversary!

  5. Love the touch of purple glitter!😀

  6. 9.5 yeaaars??? Holy crap!! And that purple glitter is such a nice touch😮

    • Yeah, that’s what I keep thinking, 9,5 years is friggin’ long! And I think it’s safe to say: best years evah! Thanks for your comment!

  7. gorgeous as always! Happy anniversary hun time flies by when you’re having fun isn’t it😉

  8. Agreed, close ups are incredible, ahmazeing look!! The gold and violety reds are so sexy and pretty!! I think your love is very lucky too!

  9. Hi, though it is an older post, I just need to comment on it. This look is amazing! I just love the colours, though it may be a bit dark, I totally dig it🙂 I think it looks good on you anyway.

  10. Malach Von Witt

    Altogether I do not like lots of make-up in particular…. The lips and the blush is a little to much for me personally… But sometimes you stumble upon a blog with a gorgeous girl in it. And those eyes! You have one lucky bastard of a boyfriend!

Leave a Reply

