Tutorial: Hummingbird Villain

When I made this look I had enough time to do a tutorial for it. It always takes a lot of time, not only to make all the pictures but also to crop them and to write the different steps. Even though I’m always happy with the result when it comes to these tutorials, I don’t make them nearly enough. I should really change that but realistically, I don’t think it will, lol.

But for now, let’s just be happy I finished this sucker right here. I hope you like it!

As always, start off with a clean eye and eyelid. Make sure your skin isn’t greasy or anything like it. Use a primer if you want to so the eyeshadow doesn’t crease.

I used this Gosh Waterproof Eyeshadow Stick in the colour Brown, it helps stick the eyeshadow to the eyelid and it makes the colours a bit more vibrant.

Make sure you blend it out evenly on the lid, don’t use too much, a small amount is enough. If you use too much it’ll make your eyeshadow crease.

I used the colour Hummingbird from my Sleek Mediterranean palette. It’s a gorgeous blue/green shimmery colour.

I applied that colour in the moving eyelid, in the inner coner and worked it out to about half way across the eyelid.

Then I took my Sleek Mattes Darks palette and used this colour called Orbit. I used that next to Hummingbird and blended it out to the outer corner of the eyelid.

I didn’t go into the crease with this colour, don’t worry about applying it too neat, you still need to blend it out with the colour you’re going to apply in the crease anyway.

I used Villan for that, the dark purple colour in the Mattes Darks palette from Sleek.

I applied this colour in the crease, working from the outer corner to the inner corner. Don’t work this colour up high because you might not have enough space for the next colour.

The next colour is Poison Plum from Sugarpill. THE best purple eyeshadow I have. Use it on a fluffy brush and softly blend it on top of the dark purple colour and blend it out to the brow.

Like this. The key to blending well is not to use too much eyeshadow at once because if you apply too much it gets patchy. You’re better off using little bit’s and add more if you think it needs more. That way the eyeshadow that stays behind on your brush gives you a nice blend.

Then I used a purple eyepencil from Gosh called Purple Stain.

I applied it below my eye, near the lower lashes.

Then I applied the dark purple eyeshadow (Villan) in the lower outer corner and blended it in, on top of that I used Poison Plum to blend it out a bit and work towards the inner corner. In the inner corner I used Hummingbird again.

Nect up: eyeliner. I used this one from Catrice called Black Jack with Jack Black

First I applied a line near my upper lashes, going from the inner corner to the outer corner.

Then I applied a wing and connected the stripes so you get a nice flowing line.

Oops, almost forgot about highlighter! I used this matte off-white colour from the Darks palette too, it’s called Pillow Talk.

Make sure you blend this white colour with the purple, that way you can create a perfect gradient.

Let’s add some sparkle. I used this glitterliner from Gosh with silver glitters, but you can use ay brand.

Apply the glitter to your finger and dab it on to the lid. Don’t rub! Just gently dab it on and don’t blink too much for about a minute after it, so the glitter doesn’t go to your moving eyelid.

Like this.๐Ÿ˜€

Use some Kohl / Eyeliner, I used this one from Gosh. I applied it to my lower and upper waterline.

I used some mascara after that, and I curled my lashes.

Tadaaaa!

I used these products for my face, pretty simple stuff. The foundation on some blemishes, some blush and even though it’s not on the picture: also some lipstick. I used the one from Sleek Berry Collection. That’s also where the blush is from. Awesome products!

And here’s the final result. First some close-ups from the eye, you could also see these in *this* blogpost.

And some fullface pictures with the lipstick. I know most wouldn’t go for such a dark lipstick, you can use something more nude if you feel like it. A slightly pink colour also works really well with this.

There’s some more pictures of this look in the other blogpost, if you want to see them. I hope you like this tutorial and the colours I used.

Please let me know in the comments what you think!

About Lisanne blogt

Ik blog op https://lisanneblogt.wordpress.com maar je kan mij ook vinden op Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/LisanneBlogt

Posted on April 6, 2013, in Tutorial and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Heel erg mooi, dame!! Ga dit zeker eens proberen en een link naar je sturen. ^_^ Trouwens, wat voor kwastje is dat die je gebruikt voor je eyeliner?

    • Jaaaa, moet je zeker doen! Lijkt me erg leuk om te zien๐Ÿ˜€
      Het kwastje is een oud kwastje van een Rimmel liquid eyeliner, ik gebruik die nog altijd voor mijn eyeliner omdat hij heel dun is. Werkt erg goed๐Ÿ™‚

  2. karinmeerbeauty

    Wauw! Echt super mooi gedaan!๐Ÿ™‚ de kleurcombinatie is echt prachtig!

  3. You look stunning in these colors! This is such a pretty look and a great tutorial. By the way, your links aren’t working to the sleek berry collection or to the other blog post you linked to.

    • Thank you, I’m so glad you like the tutorial and the look.๐Ÿ˜€ And thanks for letting me know about the links, I think I fixed them now.

  4. Awesome!! Thanks a lot for sharing, want to definitely try it!๐Ÿ˜€

  5. oh loveit! andthe glitter is such a cute highlight!

  6. Zo mooi! Ik ga hem straks namaken. Ik heb gelukkig de 2 sleek paletten, nu nog een dupe voor die paarse prachtkleur van sugarpill vinden.๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

