Tragic death of a peacock

I was browsing my Facebook page and I stumbled upon a great page that forwards the most amazing pictures, called The Macabre And the Beautifully Grotesque. When I saw this picture below I was in awe, so gorgeous and somehow pretty sad and tragic.

This was made byMarc Dantan and you can find more of his work *here*. I have no idea what it’s called but it is truly beautiful, my imagination goes wild for pictures like this, looking for a story behind it. To me it looks like the peacock is about to die because if the way the feathers look a bit dull, like most of the life has flowed out of them and the bird is just waiting for what’s about to come, knowing it will come soon enough. No longer being able to strut around parading it’s beauty, maybe even hoping for it to be over because of sadness or pain.

So I took the colours of this image and tried to make something equally dulled down but still with a little hint of colour for the remaining colour in the feathers.




I didn’t want the entire look to be gloomy and sad so I wore a red dress nd some hairflowers with this look and that brightened it up quite a bit.


I like the brown tones in this look and I actually think the match the colours of the inspirational picture quite a bit. I’m not entirely sure about the eyeliner but it’s nice and in the look it does what it’s supposed to do: a hint of colour.

What do you think of this look and the inspirational picture? Do you know the Facebook page? I know some of my Facebook friends have already found it but it just deserves every follower it can get so if you’re into beautiful images, please follow them fast😀
Let me know your thoughts about it in the comments, please!

Products used

Eyes

  • Urban Decay Primer Potion
  • Gosh Mineral Waterproof Eyeshadow Stick, Brown
  • Gosh Effect Powder Azure
  • Gosh Effect Powder Mink
  • Gosh Effect Powder Apple Jam
  • Gosh Effect Powder Aquatic
  • Urban Decay Pigment Gunmetal
  • Urban Decay Pigment Protest
  • Sugarpill Junebug
  • Gosh Kohl / Eyeliner, Black
  • Catrice gelliner Blacj Jack with Jack Black
  • Rimmel Professional Liquid Eyeliner

Face

  • Gosh Velvet Touch Foundation, Ivory
  • Catrice Allround Concealer palette
  • Gosh Pink Pie blush

Lips

  • Essence On Top Lipgloss, Dramatize

About Lisanne blogt

Ik blog op https://lisanneblogt.wordpress.com maar je kan mij ook vinden op Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/LisanneBlogt

Posted on August 29, 2012, in Make-up looks and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Reminds me of the brand new a-england collection:)

  2. Wat een prachtige look en❤ wat betreft de inspiratie er achter. Ik ga gauw kijken op die pagina!

  3. Wat een prachtige look en❤ wat betreft de inspiratie er achter. Ik ga gauw op die facebook pagina kijken!

  4. Very beautiful look, it goes amazing with you eyes! To be honest, I would’ve interpreted the picture in the same way. I discovered The Macabre And the Beautifully Grotesque a few months ago by accident. There are so many incredible works in there, as I am a lover of all that is dark and macabre the page is definetely one of my favourites. I like the fact that you somehow toned down the look with the flower and the red dress; nevertheless, I would have loved it the other way, to make it look all “tragic”🙂.
    P.S. : I love your cameo necklace!

  5. This is so beautiful, I love the colors together. It looks smashing on your light eyes!

  6. I think it’s the apple jam pigment I really like, you did an awesome job of interpreting the peacocks colors, your eyes look haunted, in a good way..

  7. Beautiful look!

    Didn’t know the FB page, will have a look soon.
    The picture of the peacock really moved me… hard to describe.
    And when you wrote your thoughts on this art work, it almost made me cry.
    hahaha silly right?
    But I guess that is what art is meant for: touching and moving people. If that’s the case, the art work suits you.

  8. Great look! That Facebook page (The Macabre And the Beautifully Grotesque) is great too, didn’t know that one yet so thanks for sharing🙂

Leave a Reply

