New skirt, guess what print?

Lately I’ve been neglecting my make-up a bit, you probably noticed. It’s been terribly warm around here and I had to work a lot too so I kept my make-up simple. So there was basically nothing to show on my blog because what I wore was not blog-worthy.

However, I have been visiting the market with a friend and I bought some pretty awesome fabrics and making clothes again. So I figured I could just show you those instead.
The item I finished a couple of days ago is a new skirt. It’s a pretty simple one because I liked the print a lot and I just wanted something very flowy and wide: perfect for hot weather. As you probably know by now, I have a real peacock fetish so this fabric just had to come home with me. It was pretty cheap too and although I rarely wear brown clothes I actually do like this a lot. I didn’t expect that!

I really isn’t very difficult to make, I used about 3 meters of fabric and I just made a very wide A-line top part and used a straight part of the fabric to pleat and sew that to the bottom part of the skirt. It also has an elastic waistband so it’s pretty comfortable to wear, never too tight! I’m so looking forward to wearing this on my upcoming vacation😀

 

I also have this fabric in red and I bought some more of that one because that colours is a little bit more up my alley.

But I am very happy with this skirt, what do you think? I’m going to try make more clothes in the future. It has been my #1 hobby but it had lost it’s magic to me because I made clothes for other people on demand too (and working fulltime on my normal job) and that way something fun turns into no-fun-at-all very fast. But making stuff like this for myself is great to do and I have so many fabrics lying around that I really need to start working on that. So more sewing stuff in the future😀

Let me know what you think of this skirt, would you wear something like this or never look at it again?😉
I’m going to start working on my pinstripe fabric soon, I have loads of ideas for it but because it’s not exactly the perfect fabric because it curls up when damp or wet so I’ll have to think of something for that. If it ever get’s finished I’ll blog about it!

About Lisanne blogt

Ik blog op https://lisanneblogt.wordpress.com maar je kan mij ook vinden op Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/LisanneBlogt

Posted on August 27, 2012, in Seamstress Stuff and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. How I wish I could wear floorlength skirts- they look fabulous on you!

  2. ik zou je nog doorgeven waar ik op naaiclub zit, dat is 2belse, als het goed is gaat ze ook af en toe zaterdagen doen waar je gewoon 1 keer komt.

  3. I would absolutely wear that, it’s so romantic, love a good elastic waistband too, nice job!

  4. p.s. for some reason I was guessing a skeleton print or day of the dead type thing…

  1. Pingback: The Peacock Postulate « Lisanne blogt

Leave a Reply

