Cleopatra’s Black Desert

I’ve been so incredibly busy working and having a social life that making looks has not exactly been a priority. But suddenly I got this feeling I sometimes get, I think of it as inspiration. That little tickle that makes you want to create, you know that feeling? I usually get it when I don’t have time to do anything creative, very convenient (not!) lol.

But I had the next day off and I saw a new part of the Weekly Showcase and I love the theme! You can choose between 2 themes this month: Middle Eastern Bridal Makeup or Roaring 20’s!

So I decided to dig around in my drawer with false lashes and I stumbled upon a pair that I hadn’t used before, aren’t these fabulous? I wanted to stay in the gold and black theme so I used Sugarpill Goldilux and Stella again and as I was searching for inspirational pictures online I saw some great arabic looks with vibrant gold, PERFECT!

Click the link if you want to see what I created with these false lashes.πŸ˜€

At first I wanted to do an eyeliner that went from the lashline back into the crease, but as I want along with the look I figured I’d do something more with that line, so I added little spikes of black that kinda looked like lashes and added some of those spikes to the bottom line too. I liked the effect.πŸ˜€

I also made the spikey effect in the brows but doesn’t come across as well as I would have liked.

You might see some difference in lighting and therefore intensity of the colours, that’s because of the flash I used on some of the pictures.
Some time ago I got a lot of questions on why I use Photoshop, let me clear that one up right now: I DON’T. I do not use photoshop on any of my pictures, asΒ  matter of fact: I don’t even own Photoshop, let alone use it.Β  I think 95 % of the time I only cut and crop my pictures, nothing else. So if you see an insanely vibrant colour or an intense black waterline? That’s the make-up ! use, not photoshop.πŸ™‚ Just needed to clear that up because it bugged me when I read it.πŸ™‚


I used Goldilux but that pigment is so crazy vibrant and gold I also used a bit more pale gold, Gold Dust from Gosh. I thought it made a real nice transition from Goldilux to the skincolour.

I wanted to do a black waterline because it’s an arabic inspired look, but because there’s already so much black going on, I decided to go for gold.


The last time I made an extreme look like this, someone asked me to do a fullface picture. When I started out with these more extreme looks I didn’t do fullface pictures because I always make-up only one eye. It looks very funky when you have 1 bare eye and one extremely made up.πŸ˜†

So this time I just added some black lips with gold and heavy blush. I kinda like the result.
But keep in mind these pictures were never meant to be made fullface so you’ll probably see some flaws on them. It’s just to give you an idea what a look like this will look like in a fullface shot.
I don’t exactly like the pictures from the side of my face because I hate my (once broken) nose. But hey, that’s my face. Can’t do anything about that.πŸ™‚


I don’t mean to sound arrogant or something but I totally love this last picture!! This is the kind of image I had in mind when making this look and it turned out so great.πŸ˜€

So I hope you like this look, I had a lot of fun making it and it definitely got me inspired for looks with my other never-used-lashes. But please, keep giving me feedback and tell me what you think, I’d love to know. And if there is any inspiration you’d like me to look at, also add them in the comments!

About Lisanne blogt

Ik blog op https://lisanneblogt.wordpress.com maar je kan mij ook vinden op Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/LisanneBlogt

Posted on July 28, 2012, in Extreme looks, Make-up looks and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 23 Comments.

  1. Whoa, that is one cool crease, two colors can be amazing! The last pic is very Natalie Portman Star Wars, so cool!

    • I got so many comparisons for that picture, variating from disney villains to Star Wars, and I get every single one of them. Thanks so much for your commentπŸ˜€

  2. Oh and like the new bloggy look too, tuff!

  3. Wow you have really outdone yourself this time! This look is absolutely amazing and stunning!! Some of the best work you have done! I also really love the lips that you paired with it along with the crazy amazing eyelashes!

  4. Wauw, echt enorm mooi gemaakt!πŸ™‚

    β™₯

  5. Oh my.. This look is honestly fabulous!! I do too get that feeling of wanting to create a great look but for me they always turn out crappy.. You got skills dear!

    • Don’t you just hate it whenever you have this great image in your head and no matter what you do, it just Will. Not. Work! Urgh!! I used to have that all the time and these days I still have days where I eventually just give up. Just keep practicing and you’ll get the hang of what works for you.

  6. Wat heb ik toch een mooie dochter en ook nog zo creatief!!!πŸ™‚

  7. damn gorgeous! prachtig gedaan❀

  8. Beautyfull!!! Loving itπŸ˜€. And full face yay.

    • I actually like this blogpost a lot because of the full face, so I’m definitely going to do that more often. Thanks for your comment!

  9. You look absolutely incredible! What a stunning look!❀

  10. Can’t keep my eyes off you- it’s such a wonderful look!
    I know you’re into pin-ups- how about a Betty Boop:)

    • Hmmm, I could do that, would be pretty easy actually, big lashes, red lips, curly hairs… Don’t know when yet but I’ll work on that some day!

  11. wauw heeeel erg gaaf!! Indd de laatste foto is erg goed gelukt!

  12. OH MY GOD Lisanne! I can’t stop staring at it! It is so freaking pretty!:D

Leave a Reply

