Cake balls, best foodinvention EVER!!!!

I was browsing Pinterest again and I read about Cake balls. I’ve heard and read about Cakepops before but these cakeballs are the kind without the stick, which is easier if you ask me. So I decided to try to make these because the recipe sounds absolutely amazing, and so terribly easy!

And even though the covering in chocolate part is not the easiest thing to do, these cake balls are absolutely worth the trouble.

I started off with the cheapest cake I could find. I could have made it myself but… well I got lazy.šŸ˜‰ I used half of this cake and got about 20 to 25 balls, depending on how big you make them.

I also used cream cheese from our local Aldi, this cream cheese is a tiny bit salty but you don’t taste that in the end result. You can also use frosting or something like that. I’m going to try some variations later but I first wanted to do the original recipe.

Use a foodprocessor or a fork to crumbl the cake up, make sure there are no big parts left. After that you add the cream cheese, I used about half of the amount in the packaging. Mix them up ontill you get a bit of a sticky dough.


Put that douch into the fridge for about half an hour, that way it’s easier to roll balls from it.

After I made the balls I read everywhere you had to put them in the fridge again but after that, you had to let them come back to room temperature. I didn’t see any logic in that so I just dipped them in chocolate right after I rolled them.

Now take some chocolate, I used both dark and white chocolate but you can use whatever you want.

Put it in the microwave for about a minute, stir every once in a while so it melts down.

Then pop the balls in the melted chocolate one by one. If your cake ball is covered in chocolate, put it on a sheet of greaseproof paper, I put that paper in a tray so I could just put the tray in the fridge later.

Now get some sprinkles to put on top of the melted chocolate.

And put the cake balls in the fridge for a couple of hours so the melted chocolate can harden.

I find it easiest to use small sprinkles, the bigger ones you see on the picture above just glide off with the melted chocolate.
But don’t these look cute!!?

I’ve pretty much decided I’m going to try a lot of variations with these little bites of deliciousness. I want to try some nuts, some with cookies, some with frosting instead of cream cheese, I’m thinking Oreo filling and all that. Maybe some with raspberry jam and white chocolate? Or maybe some orange in it and dark chocolate?

Seriously nommy so if you have the time and feel like getting some food made, you really have to try these!


What do you think, are you going to try this? And are you going to try some variations? If I try some new stuff, would you want me to write about it?
Please let me know in the comments!

About Lisanne blogt

Ik blog op https://lisanneblogt.wordpress.com maar je kan mij ook vinden op Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/LisanneBlogt

Posted on July 6, 2012, in Nommy food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Oh My God!
    I need these, RIGHT NOW!:P

    My birthday party is coming up and I think I’ll make these. I’m looking forward to it already:P

  2. hmmm lekker! wij hadden zelfs een cake pop op onze bruiloft, als topper/poppetjes bovenop :o)
    Als ik ze zelf maak doe ik ze idd ook net als jij met monchou (nou ja, jij hebt een ander naampje). Dan is het minder extreem zoet, dan met frosting
    Op een stokje is niet veel moeilijker hoor, alleen kun je dan beter candymelts gebruiken ipv chocola, dan worden ze sneller hard. Het is ook superleuk om andere vormpjes te maken (Bakerella ftw!! haha)
    Laat je ook weten hoe je andere versies zijn geworden? Ik ben heel benieuwd!

  3. It looks so tasty! *-*ā¤

  4. One more week and then I’ll be on maternity leave. I was wondering what to make for the kids at work. And then you came with your fantastic solution. They’re just small kids and cupcakes are to big. So thank you. I’ll let you know if they liked it.

  5. those look so delish, pretty too. I’d make them with some raspberry jam. Bet it was hard to not eat the whole batch in one night!

  6. My gosh, krijg er spontaan honger van!

Leave a Reply

