Inspired by Karolina’s sunrise

Some time ago I was browsing some of my favourite blogs and I stumbled into *this* blogpost from Karolina. I thought it was absolutely mesmerizing and even though I don’t use a lot of orange and I don’t usually think it looks good on me, I wanted to try something like it.

Karolina is a true artist when it comes to makeup and especially eyeliner. The pieces of art that woman can create, make my jaw drop. So I figured I didn’t want to do the exact same thing because I knew I would just end up failing and frustrating myself, so I gave it a twist.




I used a new gelliner from an upcoming collection from Catrice, it’s dark blue just like Karolina used so that was perfect! I also ended up making an eyeliner out of Sugarpill Goldilux and using that in this look. I’m very happy with the result. I think this way orange looks good!

I used my Sleek Circus palette for this look and I was surprised by how easy it is to make those colours really intense. I know Sleek does some crazy pigmented eyeshadow but I hadn’t used these colours from that palette before and they remind me of Sugarpill because of their intensity.



I like how the eyeliner is so dark you don’t really see it’s blue, but it’s not black either, so to speak.
There’s a review of these products coming up soon but I can already tell you this eyeliner is a must have for gelliner-freaks among us.


I’m going to write a blogpost on how to make an eyeliner with a pigment without using special liquids for that purpose. It’s really fun, a bit tricky but that way you van always get funky eyeliners like this😀

The red/orange colours really matched my dress and as we went out for some shopping I got compliments from complete strangers on my make-up, so that’s probably a good sign, right?😉



I also used a lipstick from the upcoming Catrice collection called Cruise Couture. This lipstick is pretty sheer but I liked that with this look. The eyes are so intense and there’s so much going on with the eyeliner that I didn’t think a bold lipstick would fit.

So I didn’t expect much of this look because when I try to recreate something like a complicated look like the one from Karolina, I don’t always succeed. But I thought this looked really cool with the gold eyeliner. I’m going to experiment some more with how to make a good eyeliner from a pigment without having to buy expensive products because I used a glitterliner for this but the eyeliner you get that way is not the easiest to work with.
So if you guys have any great ideas on how to do that, please let me know. I already know about the eyedrops trick, but I’m looking for more.

And what do you think of this look? Do you like the orange or is it too much for you? And what do you think of the eyeliners I used?
Please, let me know in the comments!

Products used

Eyes

  • Hema Eyeshadow Base
  • Gosh Mineral Waterproof Eyeshadow Stick, Brown
  • Sleek Circus palette
  • Gosh Glitterliner #
  • Catrice gelliner Cruise Couture LE, Nautica
  • Catrice Lashes to Kill Mascara

Face

  • No7 Instant Radiance Foundation, Porcelain
  • Gosh Bronzing Shimmer Powder, Bronze
  • Sephora blush, Framboise Reflet

Lips

  • Catrice Ultimate Shine Lipstick Cruise Couture LE, Shy Flamingo

About Lisanne blogt

Ik blog op https://lisanneblogt.wordpress.com maar je kan mij ook vinden op Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/LisanneBlogt

Posted on June 2, 2012, in Make-up looks and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 22 Comments.

  1. Orange WIN, eyeliners WIN! A fave so far for sure!!! I have used MAC Fix Plus to make liners with good results.

    • Thanks! I want to use something like Fix+ but I think a lot of MAC products are a bit too expensive so I’m trying cheaper alternatives. But if I don’t find them, I’ll try Fix+.

  2. Wow! This is beautiful. I always think if I take my eyeshadow up too high I’ll look freakish, but it looks so amazing on you here that I might give it a try.

    • If you also extend your eyeliner, for example to the inner or outer corner, it’ll just make your eyes look bigger. Good blending is key, though. Hope it works on you😀

  3. Absolutely gorgeous! Especially the gold eyliner! You are so good at eye-liners, I’d love a workshop eye-lining😉

    • I still think I honestly don’t do anything special, except almost push my nose against the mirror and work slow and precise. And with my eyeshape eyeliner and eyeshadows just come out nice, but that’s just luck and not skill.🙂

  4. Oh my gosh, this gold liner is so pretty on you, combined with this very thin black liner! Stunning!
    Orange looks great on you, makes your eye color really stand out! Love it!

  5. This is beautiful. You have inspired me today.

  6. Absolutely love, love, love it! Must try this one🙂 I don’t own the Sleek Circus palette but I bet my Sleek Sunset will get a fresh work out tonight!

    • That’s one of the few Sleek palettes I do not have and since I’m using red and orange more and more, I actually regret not owning it. Maybe I’ll try to get it some day🙂 I hope a look like this works on you, have you tried it yet?

  7. Beautiful!! you look relly pretty🙂

  8. im totally in love with gold liner, looks perfect! love it and really glad that my makeup was an inspiration for u!

  9. This is gorgeous! I think you look incredible in red and golden hues!
    Awesome job😉
    Phlox

  10. i LOVE the gold rimmed black liner

  11. The blending and what these shades do for your eye color is so stunning.
    Wasn’t too sure about the gold liner in the first few macros, but it’s a fab touch as I can see
    in the face pictures.

    • Thanks, I figured the gold would give it more bling instead of that “been crying for days” kind of look. And somehow it worked.🙂

Leave a Reply

