L’Oréal waterproof mascara’s

I got these mascara’s for e review from the lovely people from Kruidvat, asking me if I would review them. I like a good mascara and even though my lashes are ok, these is never such thing as “good enough” when it comes to this stuff, so I tried them both and wrote a pretty long review. What do you think, will I get lashes that reach for the moon?

If you want to know my personal opinion on these L’Oréal mascaras, click to read the review.

The first mascara is the L’Oréal Mega Volume Collagene 24h Waterproof mascara. What’s in a name? Well, a lot if you look at this mascara.It’s a waterproof mascara and in all honesty: I don’t like waterproof mascara’s. I never buy them because they usually clump my lashes together and they’re a real b*tch to remove. But you never know if this will be the same thing, right? And they are good in summer, if you’re going swimming or to the beach or even if you just sweat like there’s no tomorrow.😉

L’Oréal Mega Volume Collagene 24h Waterproof mascara

The mascara looks pretty normal, black outside, some white lettering and some blue details. Nice, not very extraordinary but I don’t think a mascara needs that. It’s what it does to your lashes that counts, not what it looks like. The wand is huge, real real big with normal bristles and I personally like those but they have a downside: they spill mascara on your eyelids.

The wand of the L’Oréal Mega Volume Collagene 24h Waterproof mascara

Application was good, I was surprised because like I said, waterproof mascara’s really tend to make my lashes clumpy and this mascara just made them look bigger and longer. So far, very good. I did get some mascara on my eyelids though, it’s almost impossible to really get your mascara on your lashes almost to the root and still keep your lids clean. My lashes were very separated and looking long and beautiful.

L’Oréal Mega Volume Collagene 24h Waterproof mascara, 1 layer

L’Oréal Mega Volume Collagene 24h Waterproof mascara, 1 layer again

This staining also happened on my lower lashes, by the way. Great mascara but you need to do some cleaning up if you’re not very careful.
The second layer also applied very easy because the mascara doesn’t dry up very hard and again it didn’t really clump anything together and also: no thick spiderlegs-looking lashes!

L’Oréal Mega Volume Collagene 24h Waterproof mascara, 2 layers and lower lashes

I was very impressed. Aside from the spilling, this mascara ROCKS! It costs €16.99. I must say, for a waterproof mascara with these results it could be worth it, IF you’re into waterproof mascara’s.

The second mascara is the L’Oréal False Lash Telescopic Waterproof. Again with the waterproof. I understand why they wanted me to review these waterproof versions of this mascara because the sun is finally here but that also makes your eye make-up run because of sweat or even sunscreen. But waterproof will never be my favourite, just sayin’.

L’Oréal False Lash Telescopic Waterproof

This mascara has a very small wand and it’s one of those spikey plastic wands that’s very flexible. Not my favourite, I’m guessing my clumsiness doesn’t help because I usually poke in my eye or waterline with the spikes and that’s not a good feeling, trust me. These are a lot better when it comes to the spilling on your eyelids though.

The wand of L’Oréal False Lash Telescopic Waterproof

Application was good again, although the mascara did knot my lashes together and their ends. I did like how my lashes were looking, they are very long instantly, not as much volume as the other mascara though.

L’Oréal False Lash Telescopic Waterproof, 1 layer

L’Oréal False Lash Telescopic Waterproof, 1 layer again

I didn’t have any problems with spilling on the bottom lashes either but the second layer of mascara didn’t apply as smooth as the first layer, probably because this mascara dries up a bit harder and the bristles on the wand don’t move so they feel hard and that made it a bit harder to get the second layer on nicely. The mascara looked a tiny but clumped, I think this mascara works a lot better with this kind of wand on shorter lashes. Long lashes clump together a bit more.

For short lashes ladies out there this mascara could be yours for €15.99.

L’Oréal False Lash Telescopic Waterproof, 2 layers and lower lashes

Both mascara’s have their good and… I don’t want to say bad because I was pretty impressed with how they applied and looked but let’s just say they also both have downsides. There is another downside for both mascara’s: they are REALLY waterproof. Which is a good thing usually but not when you like to get the stuff off your lashes and your really have to rub. I used a normal make-up remover first and and plain oil after that and still didn’t get off all of the mascara. I did get some of my own lashes off though, but that’s not something that makes me happy. At all.😕

So long story short: these mascara’s are both pretty good and if you have long lashes and really want a big wand I’d totally recommend the Mega Volume Collagene mascara. If you’re looking for a mascara that will stay on your eyes no matter what, this is the one to go but I personally think I’ll try the non-waterproof version some time.
If you have shorter lashes I’d go for the Telescopic False Lash and again: it doesn’t go anywhere so be prepared to look long-lashed all day long. But if you want something that removes a little better, I’d still go for these but just go for the non-waterproof version. If you don;t mind rubbing a bit you could try these because they stay where they are so for a waterproof mascara that’s really good, removal however, is a bit of a pain.

Tell me, what mascara do you like most? Do you like waterproof mascara more or normal mascara? Are there any tricks you use to get waterproof mascara off without losing lashes? Please let me know in the comments!

About Lisanne blogt

Ik blog op https://lisanneblogt.wordpress.com maar je kan mij ook vinden op Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/LisanneBlogt

Posted on May 30, 2012, in Product talk and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I absolutely hate waterproof mascaras. They don’t feel like normal ones, they tend to stay soft and they make my eyelashes fall with the weight of it.
    These do look nice but I’m not a fan of the plastic wand, and although I usually go for the biggest wand there is, somehow the first wand isn’t for me either.
    Next to that I like to have more volume and these lengthen more.
    I don’t know, I’m just picky with mascaras.

  2. Even if application is a dream and you end up looking like Greta Garbo- I utterly dislike mascara that requires a lot of rubbing to vanish from those precious eye lashes.

  3. I prefer waterproof, especially because I’ve been getting annoyingly emotional/teary all the time lately. Red, bloated teary eyes AND racoon circles: not so sexy…

  4. Laura Fenton

    The trick I find to use when removing waterproof mascara is to soak an eyepad in baby oil and leave on your lashes/eyelid for several minutes. This will soften up the mascara and make removal a lot easier. Another trick I recently heard of…use a regular mascara under the waterproof one. Supposed to give you lots of volume, like falsies. This seems to make the waterproof mascara come off easier too. Still gotta use the baby oil. Another trick for afterwards…use vaseline to moisture your lashes…it makes them really lush! Just a touch of vaseline, and after you’ve rinsed away the baby oil. My lashes have never been longer and lusher ever! There’s an online tutorial on uTube about it (sing vaseline to moisturize your lashes) , but I can’t remember which one. It’ll help with the lash fallout from scrubbing.🙂

Leave a Reply

