I’m baaaahaaaaack!

Some of you may have noticed the lack of blogposts the past few days. I’ve been on a trip to a German festival and got back home today. I still have a lot of looks and stuff to write about so I hope I’m going to find time to write them and scheduling them in but it might take me some time. I have a lot of laundry and stuff and I want to take care of that and our house first because I have to get to work in a few days and I want to get that all done by that time.

I took a lot of pictures at the festival but I’m only going to post some of those because not all the people that were in our group would appreciate me posting pictures of them. And I did some shopping, pictures of that are at the end of this blogpost.

Rockhard, setting up camp

We live very close to where the festival is so we just had to drive for about an hour, it’s in a different country but we live pretty close to the border so we arrived pretty early, even though there were some problems for our friends to meet us. We ended up with a group of about 15 people which is a pretty large group but we all got along really great.😀

The great thing about festivals is that you usually have enough time on your hands to have drinks and loads of conversation together so even the folks we didn’t know before, we got to know pretty good. It’s nice to meet new people and make plans for future meetings😀 We’re probably all going again next year, which pretty much tells you how much of a great time we all had together.
Weather was great too and because you spend about 80% of your festival time outside, that’s a pretty important factor. I’ve been to festivals with a lot of rain and even though you make the best of it, sun can really make your festival that much better.

Amphitheater Gelsenkirchen Rockhard

The bands of the festival play in the Amphitheater in the park. I had been here last year but other than that, I had never been to a festival in an amphitheater. The sound is really amazing in a place like this and the changing of the bands only takes about 20 minutes to half an hour, which is long enough to get yourself another beer.😉

What I really like about this setting is that you can basically sit anywhere and always get a good look at the stage. They should do more festivals like this…

We saw a really awesome band over there called Hell. I didn’t know them but they are very theatrical and obviously the subject of most of their songs is hell, which usually speaks to the imagination.😉 I was told the singer is also an actor who is mostly known for his role in Four Weddings and a Funeral and he put on an awesome show, all the band members did but he also changed clothes and masks a lot. Best show we saw there, I’m definitely getting a DVD of this band.😀

Band Hell at Rockhard

Every day we went walking to the town nearby because they had a fabulous ice cream place that made huge portions of ice cream for very little money. So each day we would have breakfast with ice cream, and because it was hot every day, that was a great way to start our day.

But you know how time flies when you’re having fun? We apparently had way too much fun because the days went by so fast we didn’t want to leave.🙂

Time to leave…

We got home yesterday and even though I had the best few days, it’s nice to be around our kitties again too. Long story short: this was a tiny vacation for us and it was amazing.😀

I also did some minor shopping at the festival, they had these really awesome dresses and some necklaces I really liked. So I bought this awesome dress, I had seen one like it before in Germany when I didn;t have the room in my suitcase to bring it with me. I think the fabric is sooooo awesome. It has those Silence Of The Lambs butterflies with skulls in them. So very unique, I have dresses with butterflies and with skulls but I thought this combination was different from what I had seen before.

My new dress!!!

Detail of the butterfly/skull fabric

The guy in the stand said our enthusiasm for their prodcuts made their day, so I got these “clipclips” for free, so sweet!

And I spotted a stand that sold some cameo nEcklaces. I looooove cameos so this baby went home with me too.

Cameo necklace

The next few days I have more updates planned so it won’t be as quiet as it has been for the past week. So tell me, do you even go to festivals like these? With the same or other kind of music? Are you going this year and if you are: which festival? And what do you think of my new dress and the other pretties? Please let me know in the comments!

About Lisanne blogt

Ik blog op https://lisanneblogt.wordpress.com maar je kan mij ook vinden op Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/LisanneBlogt

Posted on May 29, 2012, in Personal Stuff and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Aahhh makes me wish it was june already. Graspop!!! And that dress is so cool!!!:)

  2. O I think my boyfriend talked about Hell some time ago, saying that they were pretty awesome. Nice to have that kind of weather on a festival so it won’t get all blubbery, but as you were in an amphi theater, you wouldn’t have they sloshing problem unless you went to the tent.😉
    And that dress!!! O my god, I love it!:D

  3. OMG! What a beautiful dress!

  1. Pingback: Fancy schmancy « Lisanne blogt

Leave a Reply

