Purple smokey tutorial

I know, it’s been a long time since you guys got to vote. Work has been crazy busy and I just didn’t have time before to do this tutorial because it’s quite a lot of work. But here it finally is: the tutorial for the Purple smokey eye (number 2) look!

It’s pretty picture heavy so if you want to see the picture tutorial please click to see the rest of the blogpost.

First of all you always start off with a clean eyelid.  I have very oily lids so I need a coat of Urban Decay Primer Potion to keep everything in place and prevent stuff from creasing. If you don’t have that problem you can start with a thin layer of Gosh Waterproof Eyeshadow Primer.
Remember: less is more in this case. If you use too much it’ll crease anyway. This base is a bit sticky which I find works way better with pigments and loose powders like I’m going to use for this look.


After that I used Sugarpill Weekender near the inner eyecorner. Make sure you don’t use it in the very corner and also keep the lower corner free of this colour.


After that you take a very dark purple eyeshadow. I used Urban Decay Rockstar. It’s in a jar with a brush but that brush gives me fall out so I just get a little out the jar on a tissue and work it into my brush.
Apply Rockstar on the rest of your upper lid and up to the crease. Make sure you wing it out a little to the outer corner.


Now take Sugarpill Poison Plum. This is a gorgeous matte and intense purple colour. Apply this to the edge of the eyeshadows on the upper lid and make sure you blend that colour well. I started on the inner corner and blended that out but make sure you don’t blend it up too much or you’ll get a purple panda look.😉



After that take Gosh Butterfly, it’s a gorgeous and very shimmery purple. Apply that to your very inner eyecorner and a little below the eye.


Now use a purple eyepencil, I used Gosh Purple Stain and apply it near the lower lashline. Apply a little Urban Decay Rockstar on top of it. That way it’ll stay all day.


Now take sugarpill Lumi. It’s a stunning white loose powder but when applied on a dark base it gives a fantastic blue/greenish colour. Apply this powder on your moving eyelid near the outer corner and blend it a little bit. Don’t go into or above the crease.



Now take a black eyeliner, I used a Catrice gelliner but you can use any eyeliner you want. First apply it near the upper lashline. After that you make a wing, extending your lower lashline.



Use a black eyepencil to line your upper and lower waterline. I used Gosh Kohl / Eyeliner

Almost done! You can just curl your lashes and use mascara to finish the eyelook or you can apply false lashes. I used false lashes bu Kruidvat which I really like. They’re dramatic but not completely over the top. And they apply very easily.


Do your brows if you need to and then this look is done.

I applied some foundation under my eyes and around my nose, used some blush and lipgloss and the look was done!








I hope you enjoyed this tutorial. A lot of people have asked me for video tutorials but that;s just not going to happen. I tried it once but it made me very uncomfortable and I didn’t like the result at all and there’s no fun in it for me like that.🙂

So I hope a picture tutorial like this is ok with you too. Please let me know in the comments what you think or what you think I could improve to get the making of a look like this come across and I’ll try to work on more.

About Lisanne blogt

Ik blog op https://lisanneblogt.wordpress.com maar je kan mij ook vinden op Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/LisanneBlogt

Posted on April 9, 2012, in Make-up looks, Tutorial and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 33 Comments.

  1. I really love that white/blue iridescence on the lid! Looks gorgeous!😀

  2. Prachtig! Deze kleuren staan je fantastisch!

  3. prachtige look!

  4. Het is beeldschoon! Alweer!

  5. Loooooooove this look!!! Loooooove Purple! Looooooove it in your blue eyes!

  6. Heel erg mooi! Vooral het effect van die witte loose powder! Wauwie!

  7. Ziet er fantastisch uit, en als je je niet comfy voelt met tutorials in video vorm, gewoon niet doen. Deze foto tutorial is ook erg duidelijk en handig.

    • Dat is toch wel goed on te horen,haha. Ik wil graag mensen geven wat ze willen zien maar als de lol er dan af gaat heeft dat ook geen nut, toch? Bedankt voor je comment.

  8. Super fijn een foto tutorial, wordt ik weer heel blij van. Dit is echt een prachtige look, heel leuk om te zien!

  9. I love the look and these picture tutorials are great. Video’s aren’t necessary when the pictures are so clear and if it makes you feel uncomfortable you shouldn’t do it;)
    Sugarpill Lumi looks like Scaredy Cat’s Hedgerow but I think Hedgerow is more white in base.
    I think I’m going to try this look soon!:)

    • Lumi and Hedgerow are actually dupes, I swatched then together in a blogpost once but I can’t link it right now because I’m using my phone. But good call! And thanks for your comment.😀

      • Yes, I read that post. I had just forgotten about it.😄
        Beautifull colour! Both Lumi and Hedgerow!

  10. Fantastic eye! Congratulations!
    Kisses from Brazil

    Dâmaris, http://www.villagebeaute.blogspot.com.br

  11. Well…..I would like a video, BUT the pic tutorial was good! lol I was able to follow and the look is gorgeous!

  12. This is such a beautiful look so I’m really grateful you’ve included a tutorial for it. I love Lumi over purple!

  13. Thank you so much! Your tutorials are always the best😀

  14. BTW: I much prefer foto tutorials and yours are always great.

  15. You did a fantastic job with this tutorial so I really did not miss the video tutorial.

  16. Amazinggggggggggggg!! Great tutorial! Love it! Will try this look soon. =D

  17. Sodeju, deze prachtige look SPAT van mijn scherm af!!!

    Mooie tutorial ook met deze foto’s, thanks!!

  18. I’ve only tried the Bad girl palette on my hand so far, and I really like it, I just need to get the mood for dark smokey eyes again, I’ve been feeling for so much color now that spring is here. And thank you so much for the comments!

  19. Very stunning😉 where can you find gosh products?

  20. great tutorial! will have to try this look sometimes. keep the tutorials coming, that is when you have time🙂

  21. Thanks so much, you make it look so easy. The moving eylid part is a new trick for me to try!

Leave a Reply

