About Whitney

The day before Whitney died I was reading a gossipy article about some shindig she attended. Reporters wrote about how she looked like she was not completely sober and they assumed she had used some kind of drug. Which was probably not a bad guess, considering she has had her fair share of all kinds of drugs. I’m not judging, I’m just saying it’s not a strange assumption.

When I read that article I felt sorry for the woman. She lives the dream, she made a fantastic career, she’s absolutely stunning, she was married, had a beautiful daughter and that voice… Wow. But she didn’t look happy.
She has had some incredible highs in her life but also some serious lows and it was all out in the open for the whole world to see and most of all, to judge. Nobody really knows what went on in her life, nobody knows the ordeals she went through both physically and mentally, nobody knows what she has been thinking about her self and her life. But everybody judges on the things they think they see, not knowing what’s really going on. That’s so very tough and it can easily turn you insane or at least make you a bit unstable.

Wether you like her songs or not, I don’t think there is anybody in the right mind that could honestly say she didn’t have a fantastic voice. I grew up in the 80’s and 90’s and therefore I was heavily influenced by her music. When I was about 14 years old I watched The Bodyguard for at least 20 times when I was little, I thought it was so romantic and beautiful!

These days I listen to completely different music, Whitney Houston doesn’t get played in our house but when I heard the news I had to think about what I was thinking about her yesterday. It’s a damn shame this woman drowned in her bath but I wasn’t surprised. I couldn’t imagine her getting very old, with all the crap she had been through and the things gossip said she was involved in. Usually there is something right about rumours. What I’m more interested in: was she happy? Did she think she had a good life? I really hope so.

So what’s this blogpost about?  Nothing, just some thoughts. It makes me sad when those fantastic performers seem to lose control somewhere in the spotlight and just crash to their death. Heath Ledger, Brittany Murphy, Michael Jackson, Amy Winehouse and the list goes on and on.
It actually makes you wonder why people still pursue stardom, looks to me like there are too many very unhappy people in the spotlight. Sure, the big bucks are great, but if the pressure is so huge you have to resort to these kind of “solutions” I’d rather be my own little unknown self. Maybe a little less spotlight and excitement but if you look at the price a lot of these people pay, it doesn’t seem worth it to me.

What do you think?

About Lisanne blogt

Ik blog op https://lisanneblogt.wordpress.com maar je kan mij ook vinden op Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/LisanneBlogt

Posted on February 16, 2012, in Personal Stuff and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. The pressure must be horrendous. The whole world expects you to come up with something great again and that immense stress plus some insecurity thrown in for good measure might lead to substance abuse. Or that’s what I assume.
    Well, I guess I’ll never know what causes this destructive behaviour as I’m not an artist myself. No stranger to rather harmless addictions like nail polish, books and little black dresses I’ve always disliked illegal substances.

  2. It makes me really sad. I also dislike the way people judge stars like Lindsay Lohan, who was thrust into the spotlight at a very young age and has really messed up parents. I don’t agree with heavy drug use, but I know it’s not something people can up and quit and live the rest of their lives just like that.

    It’s really terrible. Hollywood is so destructive, yet it’s glamourized so much to be the ultimate goal and becoming famous the best thing in the world.:/

  3. I was absolutely crushed when I heard the news. No, I don’t listen to her music anymore, but yes, I have the same experience as you have had growing up. Hell, my very first cassette tape in my very first walkman was her second album called Whitney – the one with which she broke through to the large public.

    To have a glimpse into her live you might want to watch Oprah’s interview with her somewhere in 2010 on Youtube. While she looked pretty good there after having divorced Bobby Brown and after a stint in various rehabs, she also looked kind of fragile and her voice … holy hell:/ Such a shame. The way she died is so undignified and sad. And it also shocked me that she was only 48. Somehow I thought she was at least a decade older than that.

Leave a Reply

