Once Upon A Time

This series is just so fantastic that I had to write something about it. It has had me in it’s fairytale claws for days now and my love and I are absolute Once Upon A Time addicts now!

This new television series is in it’s first season and I’m already hoping for a second one. (and a third and…)  At least there’s going to be 22 episodes in the first season so we are set for now. I’m writing this because the series is not that known yet in the Netherlands, it’s not on our regular channels (yet)  but if you are into fantasy or fairy tales you do not want to miss out on this one.
Someone on Twitter told me it is playing on Film1 Channel but I believe that’s an on demand channel.

The story is about Emma Swan, she makes a living as a bounty hunter. It’s her 28th birthday and that day she meets Henry. He tells her he is her son whom she gave up for adoption as a baby. She doesn’t want anything to do with him but she feels a bit responsible so she decides to drive him home, Henry lives in the magical town Storybrook.
When she is driving him to Storybrook, he tells her about his special book. It’s filled with fairy tales and he is absolutely certain the stories are real, they just play out a bit differently in this world that he’s living in. Everybody in the town of Storybrook is a fairy tale character. His teacher, Miss Mary Margaret Blanchard is in “fairy tale reality” Snow White. The clue here is that Snow White is the mother of… wait for it… Emma!! The mayor of the town is the adoptive mother of Henry. In the fairy tales she is the evil queen. And man, that one evil witch! Lana Parilla who plays this character is a fantastic actress because she makes you want to smother her in her sleep, she is pure evil as the mayor and especially as the Evil Queen! The Evil Queen cast a spell on the town saying all of the happy endings will be hers… So no happy endings for the towns people.
The people of Storybrook are not aware of their secret identities as fairy tale characters because of the curse but they’re also not able to leave the town and time is frozen. But naturally there is a way out of this evil curse, and that’s where Emma comes in. Emma decides to stay for some time to figure out what is going on, what’s true about Henries stories and because she is staying, the frozen time begins to tick away again.

I’m probably not very good at explaining all of the twists and turns of this plot because there are a lot of those in this story. Just check out the trailer and I’m sure it will make more sense.

What I especially love is that the characters have a fairytale alter ego in the fairytale dimension, so to speak. For example: the therapist Henry has to go to is Jiminy Cricket in the other world. As we all know, Jiminy Cricket is the conscience to Pinocchio in the Pinocchio movie. Jiminy Cricket is smart, sweet and very brave and that’s what his therapist is like too. That overlap of characters is so much fun and makes Once Upon A Time very interesting to watch.

Archibald Hopper a.k.a. Jiminy Cricket

And the costumes, make-up and stuff… O.M.G!!! Soooo creative and beautiful. If you have a thing for that, like me, you are so going to dig this show. It’s like watching a very beautiful movie. It seemed to me that movies are usually a bit better with clothing, props and make-up, I don’t know why. But this series definitely equals some awesome movies in that department.

There are some really cool guest stars too and they’re so fun to see passing by on your screen. For example: Amy Acker from Angel plays a part in this series, Emma Caulfield (Anya from Buffy) plays the blind witch from Hansl and Gretl, and Emilie de Ravin (from Lost) plays Belle and Kristin Bauer (Pam in True Blood) plays Maleficient. Awesome!!!

Kristin Bauer as Maleficient

I hope more people get hooked on this show because it deserves every viewer it can get. Let me know in the comments if you’re familiar with it, what you think of the series or if you’re going to take a look at it.😀

About Lisanne blogt

Ik blog op https://lisanneblogt.wordpress.com maar je kan mij ook vinden op Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/LisanneBlogt

Posted on January 28, 2012, in Personal Stuff. Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. I really looked forward to this series. I thought the idea was amazing.
    Although I was really disappointed with it. I really couldn’t get over the bad acting.
    Perhaps I should give it another try. I like Kristin Bauer.

    • Bad acting? I’m sorry but I have to disagree about that. I think certain roles are very extravagant but I personally don’t think there is bad acting in this series. But it just goes to show how different opinions can be.🙂

  2. I LOVE this series! Unlike you though I seem to be the only one in my circle of friends/family that like it. Oh well. Rumplestiltskin’s one of my favorite characters. He’s so delightfully evil and seems to know what’s going on in the real world and fairytale. I was glad to see the show that explained his backstory, it was pretty good. I’m DYING to find out what exactly Snow White did to the Queen to piss her off so bad!

    • Rumplestiltskin is soooo awesome! I didn’t even recognise him as the guy from The Full Monty and Trainspotting, but it’s him! You can tell he has so much fun with this role. Love it😀 There’s an ep coming up (maybe it aired last sunday) about belle (from the beast) and I can’t wait to see that one!

  3. Film1? I’ll go and watch it straight away! Uh, as soon as the football matches have all finished:)

  4. love it, thanks for the tip

  5. Oh, I´ve never heard of this one! Germany is always very slow in showing this kind of shows!
    I´m really going to look for this one in the internet…🙂

Leave a Reply

