Marjolein´s Smokey Red

A long time ago I saw *this* look from Marjolein, a.k.a. The Art Is Makeup, on Facebook. I was immediately smitten with the brown and red colours and I really wanted to do something like it. I actually forgot a bit about these pictures and suddenly I ran into this unfinished blogpost. So I finished it as fast as possible, I hope you like it.

I added a little touch of gold in the inner corner but I think, other than the gold, this look is a lot like what I wanted to do with the inspiration Marjolein gave me.

To keep the look a little softer I used black eyeshadow for eyeliner. Smokey looks can be quite soft and I was hoping the eyeshadow liner would add to the softness of the look. I think that worked out pretty good, what do you think?

I really like the shimmery highlight under the brow, it’s from the Kat von D palette. It’s a nice coincidence that I got this palette from the lovely lady who also gave me the inspiration for this look: Marjolein a.k.a. The Art Is Makeup. :D

Fullface pictures turned out a bit different than I had hoped. It’s because the sun was already setting and that always screws up the lighting in my pictures a bit. My lips were actually a bit more shimmery and I don’t remember them this pink. Oh well, I’ll just have to live with it. ;)

Thanks so much to Marjolein for both the palette I used to make this look and the awesome inspiration. Please visit her *blog* because she does amazing things with eyeshadow.
What do you think of this look? Do you like the colours? I like how the speck of gold from sugarpill’s Goldilux keeps drawing attention to itself. Do you ever use black eyeshadow as eyeliner?
Please let me know in the comments!

Products used

Eyes

  • Waterproof Mineral Eyeshadow Stick, Brown
  • Sugarpill Goldilux
  • Kat von D Saint palette, colours Enjoy the Silence, Pray for Me and Caravaggio
  • Sleek Darks Mattes palette, colours Noir, Paper Bag and Maple
  • Sleek Mediterranean palette, colours Sunset, Bamboo and Moors Treasure
  • Gosh Kohl / Eyeliner, Black
  • Gosh mascara *dontrememberwhatitscalled*

Face

  • Rimmel Match Perfection Foundation, Ivory
  • Catrice Camouflage Cream, Rosy Beige
  • ELF Highlighter
  • Sleek Fenberry blush

Lips

  • Catrice L.E. Nude Sensation lipstick, Nude Brown
  • Catrice lipgloss, Sun Kissed
Posted on February 21, 2014, in Make-up looks and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. This is a gorgeous look! I love the use of Goldilux.

Leave a Reply

