Fancy schmancy

A weekend some time ago we went out to dinner, a very fancy dinner because we had a lot of money left from the festival and we love this place so we figured we’d use it to have another great night.
I had to work that day but when I got home I took the time to get dressed and made up. I wanted to do something pretty, not too girly and a little fancy and I wanted to keep my makeup light. Well, that failed because it came out pretty much smokey, lol.

Outfit pictures at the end of this blogpost!

I wanted to do something with gold, but I use the gorgeous bright gold pigment Goldilux from Sugarpill so much that I seem to forget about the others. I went through my stash and found way more golden eyeshadows then I thought I would. I need to use those more often!


I wrote about my Wet ‘n Wild palettes a long time ago but I didn’t use it as much as I thought I would. This was a good opportunity to get to know Baked, not Fried a little better. And I have to say it surprised me again, these shades are so beautiful and I’ve been wearing them a lot in the last couple of days.



I thought the different shades of brown and golden hues worked really well together. And even though it’s not my usual splash of colour, I did like this look a lot. I like how it makes my eyes look a lot more blue and light. I actually think my eyes look a bit scary-light in the first full-face picture. :lol:

I used a light lipstick, one I almost never use because light lipstick usually makes my lips look huge and it gives my face a very sickly tone. But with the colours I used for this look, it somehow just worked. So yay for nude lips!

Looking royally pissed off for some reason…

And here’s the outfit pistures. I wore a mermaid skirt that I made ages ago and almost never wear for some reason. I like everything about it but it just got a bit forgotten, I guess.

I also wore some new pumps which turned out to be a big mistake, at the end of the night I has blisters on my blisters, lol! We walked to and from the restaurant because it’s really close by and we both drank too much to drive so I was happy I brought my slippers in my purse.

Posing for outfits…. just not my thing apparantly. ;)

 

Anyway, we had an amazing evening and I like the look and the outfit. What do you think of the nude lip? And what about that pinstripe skirt? Do you like it? Do you think I should make brown looks like this more often or should I just keep on going on my rainbow path?
Let me know in the comments!

Products used

Eyes

  • Hema Eyeshadow Base
  • Gosh Mineral Waterproof Eyeshadow Stick, Brown
  • MAC Vintage Gold pigment
  • Wet ‘n Wild Baked, Not Fried palette, 2 darkest shades
  • Catrice gelliner, Black Jack with Jack Black
  • Coastal Scents Mirage palette, highlighter with gold shimmer
  • Gosh Kohl / Eyepencil, Black
  • Catrice Lashes To Kill mascara

Face

  • No7 Instant Radiance Foundation, Porcelain
  • Gosh bronzing shimmer powder, bronze

Lips

  • Catrice Nude Sensation LE Lipstick, Nude Brown
Posted on June 24, 2012, in Make-up looks and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Oh God save those eyes! Beautiful. Lovin the makeup

  2. Mooie look, mijn favo kleuren!

  3. you look so beautiful!
    i really love how these colours look with your pale blue eyes <3

Leave a Reply

